Odd question, I know, but...
One of our goals tonight went for review. The goal, after video replay, was deemed legal, and we scored the point. However, the whistle was not blown immediately, and play was allowed to continue until a stoppage. Which begs the question, what would have happened if we scored a goal while waiting on the video replay for the first goal?
the Answer isn't really clear cut.
Let's go to the rulebook. Section 78.5, which deals with what goals are disallowed states that
(vii) When video review confirms the scoring of a goal at one end of the ice, any goal scored at the other end on the same play must be disallowed.
So if Chicago would have scored, their goal would be disallowed. However, it quite clearly states that any goal scored at the other end wouldn't count. Sadly, information relating to what a second goal scored on the same end seems to be silent.
Rule 78.6 However, may clear this up.
Only one goal can be awarded at any stoppage of play.
Simple enough? Seems so. However, the paragraph the rule is in seems there only to elaborate 78.5 vii
Only one goal can be awarded at any stoppage of play. If the apparent goal was scored by Team A, and is subsequently confirmed as a goal by the Video Goal Judge, any goal scored by Team B during the period of time between the apparent goal By Team A and the stoppage of play (Team B’s goal), the Team B goal would not be awarded. However, if the apparent goal by Team A is deemed to have entered the goal, albeit illegally (i.e. distinct kicking motion), the goal shall be disallowed by the Video Goal Judge and since the play should have stopped for this disallowed goal, no goal can be awarded to Team B on the same play. The clock must be re-set to the time of the disallowed Team A goal and play resumed.
You be the judge.