clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SB Nation's Mock NHL Expansion Draft: Finalizing Our Flyers Protected List

Getty Images

The votes are in and our list is complete.

We've made some tough decisions and some easy ones. We've angered some people, but hey, that's part of the business. The following players are eligible to be plucked away from the Philadelphia Flyers in the 2010 SB Nation Mock NHL Expansion Draft:

G: Brian Boucher

D: Matt Walker, Sean O`Donnell, Oskars Bartulis

F: Jody Shelley, Dan Carcillo, Darroll Powe, Blair Betts, Greg Moore

The draft will take place today, on Thursday, and the results will be announced next Tuesday, after the Labor Day holiday. Gabe Desjardins of Behind The Net is running the new Winnipeg franchise, while James Mirtle of The Globe & Mail is running the new Quebec franchise.

After the jump, let's look at which Flyers players were protected and which players were exempt from this process.

Here's our final protected list:

G: Michael Leighton

D: Chris Pronger, Kimmo Timonen, Matt Carle, Braydon Coburn, Andrej Meszaros

F: Danny Briere, Mike Richards, Jeff Carter, James van Riemsdyk, Claude Giroux, Nikolai Zherdev, Ville Leino, Ian Laperriere, Scott Hartnell

And the exempted players:

G Johan Backlund, Sergei Bobrovsky, Nicola Riopel, Brian Stewart

D: Erik Gustafsson, Marc-Andre Bourdon, Joonas Lehtivuori, Kevin Marshall, Tyler Hostetter, Dan Jancevski

F: Mike Testwuide, Andrew Rowe, Stefan Legein, David Laliberte, Andreas Nodl, Garrett Klotz, Ben Holmstrom, Luke Pither, Shane Harper, Eric Wellwood, Zac Rinaldo, Patrick Maroon, Matt Clackson

Annd, there you have it. Two of our players will be taken in draft today, but we can only lose either one goalie OR one defenseman. So, we'll lose one of Boosh, O'Donnell, Walker and Bartulis, as well as one of the forwards that are unprotected.

Who do you hope they pick?