clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Hobey Baker Award 2014: Shayne Gostisbehere named top-10 finalist

New, comments

He probably won't win, but a top-3 finish wouldn't be too bad for the Union College defenseman and Philadelphia Flyers prospect.

Getty Images

Shayne Gostisbehere isn't going to win the 2014 Hobey Baker Award, given annually to the best player in college hockey. That honor is going to Boston College junior Johnny Gaudreau, a finalist last year and a South Jersey native.

But Gostisbehere, a junior at Union College, the second-ranked team in the nation, was named a finalist for the award on Thursday. He's the only defenseman still in the running. Here's the complete list of finalists:

  • Josh Archibald, University of Nebraska-Omaha winger
  • Greg Carey, St. Lawrence University winger
  • Nic Dowd, St. Cloud State University forward
  • Ryan Dzingel, Ohio State University forward
  • Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College forward
  • Shayne Gostitsbehere, Union College defenseman
  • Kevin Hayes, Boston College forward
  • CJ Motte, Ferris State University goaltender
  • Joel Rumpel, University of Wisconsin goaltender
  • Adam Wilcox, University of Minnesota goaltender

Voting is now open to the public, and you can vote once per day until midnight on March 30. The final three --- known as the Hobey Hat Trick -- will be announced shortly after. The 2014 winner will be crowned on Friday, April 11 at the Wells Fargo Center, as part of Frozen Four weekend in Philadelphia.