clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The Philadelphia Flyers 2014-15 third jersey might already be in your closet

New, comments

The Flyers new third jersey is not new at all. They'll wear it 12 times in 2014-15.

Bruce Bennett

You don't need to see pictures of the Philadelphia Flyers new third jersey. You already know what it looks like, and you might even have one in your closet.

The team finally unveiled Saturday that they'll wear the 2012 Winter Classic orange uniform, pictured above, as their alternate sweater during the 2014-15 season. This was hinted at a few weeks back during informal summer workouts, when some players were spotted wearing the pants that go along with that jersey. Now it's official.

I'm fine with this. It's a great sweater. I was hoping we'd get to see the orange jerseys from the 1990s, and a lot of people were hoping for black jerseys, but there's no room to complain about the team wearing these Winter Classic sweaters again. They're fantastic. Here's the schedule of games in which the Flyers will wear them:

Date Game Time
Sat, Oct 11 Home vs. Montreal Canadiens 7 p.m.
Wed, Nov 19 Away at New York Rangers 8 p.m.
Fri, Nov 28 Home vs. New York Rangers 1 p.m.
Sat, Dec 13 Home vs. Carolina Hurricanes 1 p.m.
Fri, Jan 10 Home vs. Boston Bruins 1 p.m.
Fri, Jan 31 Home vs. Toronto Maple Leafs 7 p.m.
Fri, Feb 21 Home vs. Nashville Predators 1 p.m.
Fri, Mar 7 Away at Boston Bruins 1 p.m.
Fri, Mar 14 Home vs. Detroit Red Wings 1 p.m.
Fri, Mar 28 Home vs. San Jose Sharks 1 p.m.
Sat, Apr 5 Home vs. Pittsburgh Penguins 7:30 p.m.
Fri, Apr 11 Home vs. Ottawa Senators 12:30 p.m.