The NHL announced officially Wednesday that it will add a coach's challenge to the rule book beginning in 2015-16. But what exactly does that mean, and how exactly will it work?
It's very limited, for starters. The coach will only be able to request a challenge under two scoring play scenarios, according to the league:
- If an offside play leads to a goal.
- On scoring players that involve goaltender interference.
That means that things like penalties, or goals scored under other questionable circumstances, will not be eligible for challenge.
Teams will only be allowed to use their challenge if they have a timeout available. Just like in the NFL, if the team is unsuccessful in the challenge, they will lose their timeout. If they are successful, they will retain it.
Challenges on offside plays
Teams will be able to ask for a review if they were scored against and they think the opposing team was offsides on the play before the goal occurred. Under no other circumstance may a coach use his challenge in under this scenario.
More on this direct from the league:
Goals will only be reviewed for a potential "Off-Side" infraction if: (a) the puck does not come out of the attacking zone again; or (b) all members of the attacking team do not clear the attacking zone again, between the time of the "Off-Side" play and the time the goal is scored. ... In the event a goal is reversed due to the Linesman determining that the play was "Off-Side" prior to the goal being scored, the clock (including penalty time clocks, if applicable) will be re-set to the time at which the play should have been stopped for the "Off-Side" infraction.
Challenges on goalie interference
Teams will be allowed to challenge when a goal was scored and they believe there was goaltender interference was a factor, both on the offensive end or the defensive end.
So for example, if a goal is scored and a team believes their goaltender was interfered with, they can challenge.
On the flip side, if a team scores a goal that is waived off due to goaltender interference, but the attacking team believes the goaltender interference penalty was whistled incorrectly -- whether that's because they think there was no contact or that their player was pushed into the goalie -- they they can challenge.