clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Flyers prospect Carter Hart wins WHL Goaltender of the Year award ... again

There’s one goalie with Hart. That’s it

Sweden v Canada: Semifinal - 2017 IIHF World Junior Championship Photo by Minas Panagiotakis/Getty Images

Earlier today, we told you about how 20-year-old Philadelphia Flyers prospect Oskar Lindblom was named the top forward in the Swedish Hockey League -- one of the best hockey leagues in the world -- for the 2016-17 season.

That wasn’t the only major accolade handed out to a Flyers prospect today though. This afternoon, we learned that Carter Hart of the Everett Silvertips won the 2016-17 WHL Goaltender of the Year award. It’s the second-straight year that Hart has won the award, because he is wonderful.

The list of those who have won this award is pretty damn solid. Lots of names we recognize on this list:

WHL Goalie of the Year winners since 1988

2015-2016 Carter Hart (G) 1998 Philadelphia Flyers
2014-2015 Philippe Desrosiers (G) 1995 Dallas Stars
2013-2014 Jordon Cooke (G) 1993
2012-2013 Patrik Bartosak (G) 1993 Los Angeles Kings
2011-2012 Michael Houser (G) 1992
2010-2011 Darcy Kuemper (G) 1990 Minnesota Wild
2009-2010 Jake Allen (G) 1990 St. Louis Blues
2008-2009 Mike Murphy (G) 1989 Carolina Hurricanes
2007-2008 Chet Pickard (G) 1989 Nashville Predators
2006-2007 Carey Price (G) 1987 Montréal Canadiens
2005-2006 Justin Pogge (G) 1986 Toronto Maple Leafs
2004-2005 Jeff Glass (G) 1985 Ottawa Senators
2003-2004 Cam Ward (G) 1984 Carolina Hurricanes
2002-2003 Adam Russo (G) 1983
2001-2002 Ray Emery (G) 1982 Ottawa Senators
2000-2001 Dan Blackburn (G) 1983 New York Rangers
1999-2000 Andrew Raycroft (G) 1980 Boston Bruins
1998-1999 Cody Rudkowsky (G) 1978
1997-1998 Mathieu Garon (G) 1978 Montréal Canadiens
1996-1997 Marc Denis (G) 1977 Colorado Avalanche
1995-1996 Frédéric Deschênes (G) 1976 Detroit Red Wings
1994-1995 Martin Biron (G) 1977 Buffalo Sabres
1993-1994 Norm Maracle (G) 1974 Detroit Red Wings
1992-1993 Jocelyn Thibault (G) 1975 Québec Nordiques
1991-1992 Corey Hirsch (G) 1972 New York Rangers
1990-1991 Félix Potvin (G) 1971 Toronto Maple Leafs
1989-1990 Trevor Kidd (G) 1972 Calgary Flames
1988-1989 Stéphane Fiset (G) 1970 Québec Nordiques
1987-1988 Stéphane Beauregard (G) 1968 Winnipeg Jets
via Elite Prospects

Hart has one more year of eligibility in the WHL and will likely use it, since playing in the NHL next season seems unlikely no matter how much Kurt wants it to happen.