clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL 2018 All-Star Game lineups, start time, TV, live stream and discussion

Claude Giroux will try to make it two straight years in which a Flyer wins All-Star Game MVP.

2018 GEICO NHL All-Star Skills Competition - Save Streak
That’s our guy.
Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

Today’s NHL All-Star Game in Tampa begins at 3:30 p.m. ET and can be:

  • Seen on TV in the US via NBC (or via stream on NBC Sports Live or the NBC Sports App)
  • Seen in Canada via Sportsnet, TVA, and CBC

The Flyers, as you may know, have just one player in today’s All-Star Game, as Claude Giroux will make his fifth appearance (out of the past six games the league has held). He will, however, be looking to uphold the standard set last year by his teammate; last year (the one time this decade in which the NHL had an All-Star Game and Giroux wasn’t in it), Wayne Simmonds, the Flyers’ lone representative, took home All-Star Game MVP honors.

The All-Star Game is a 3-on-3 contest that takes place in tournament format. At 3:30 p.m. ET, the Central Division team and the Pacific Division team will play against each other for 20 minutes. At 4:30 p.m. ET, the Metropolitan Division and Atlantic Division will square off (so, if you have no vested interest in this other than seeing Claude Giroux do good hockey stuff, you can start tuning in then). At 5:30 p.m. ET, the winners of the first two games will square off for the championship, with the winning team getting $1 million to spread across its 11 players.

There will be no power plays in the All-Star Game; any penalties called will be immediately resolved by way of a penalty shot.

Rosters are below, by division.


Forwards: Josh Bailey (NYI), Brian Boyle (NJD), Sidney Crosby (PIT), Claude Giroux (PHI), Alex Ovechkin (WSH), John Tavares (NYI)

Defensemen: Noah Hanifin (CAR), Kris Letang (PIT), Zach Werenski (CBJ)

Goalies: Braden Holtby (WSH), Henrik Lundqvist (NYR)

Coach: Barry Trotz (WAS)


Forwards: Aleksander Barkov (FLA), Jack Eichel (BUF), Nikita Kucherov (TBL), Brad Marchand (BOS), Auston Matthews (TOR), Brayden Point (TBL), Steven Stamkos (TBL)

Defensemen: Mike Green (DET), Erik Karlsson (OTT)

Goalies: Carey Price (MTL), Andrei Vasilevskiy (TBL)

Coach: Jon Cooper (TBL)


Forwards: Patrick Kane (CHI), Nathan MacKinnon (COL), Brayden Schenn (STL), Tyler Seguin (DAL), Eric Staal (MIN), Blake Wheeler (WPG)

Defensemen: John Klingberg (DAL), Alex Pietrangelo (STL), P.K. Subban (NSH)

Goalies: Connor Hellebuyck (WIN), Pekka Rinne (NSH)

Coach: Peter Laviolette (NSH)


Forwards: Brock Boeser (VAN),Johnny Gaudreau (CGY), Anze Kopitar (LAK), Connor McDavid (EDM), James Neal (VGK), Rickard Rakell (ANA)

Defensemen: Brent Burns (SJS), Drew Doughty (LAK), Oliver Ekman-Larsson (ARI)

Goalies: Marc-Andre Fleury (VGK), Jonathan Quick (LAK)

Coach: Gerard Gallant (VGK)