clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Flyers announce six finalists for Hall of Fame induction in 2021-22

A recent star, franchise icons, and a couple former Penguins are among the finalists to be the first inducted into the Flyers Hall of Fame since 2016.

New York Rangers v Philadelphia Flyers Photo by Tim Nwachukwu/Getty Images

For the first time in five years, the Philadelphia Flyers will be adding an inductee into the Flyers Hall of Fame — and we finally know who the finalists are.

The newest member — or members — of the Flyers Hall of Fame will be among the following franchise icons: Lou Nolan, Paul Holmgren, Bob Kelly, Mark Recchi, Rick Tocchet, and Simon Gagne.

The announcement of the finalists comes on the heels of the Flyers announcing a new process of identifying new inductees to the Hall of Fame. According to the club, the new selection process involves soliciting input from former players, journalists, and more. A nomination and voting committee is leveraged in the process to determine the number of inductees, carefully noting that more than one could be inducted at a given time.

“When young Flyers fans visit our arena, they see names like Bobby Clarke, Bill Barber, and Eric Lindros displayed in the rafters and have an opportunity to learn about the legends who have made the Flyers one of the NHL’s truly great hockey franchises,” said Dave Scott, Chairman and CEO of Comcast Spectacor, in late August when the club announced the changes. “That’s what this tradition and this process is all about - celebrating and building the legacy of the Philadelphia Flyers for generations to come.”

It’s been a long time since the Flyers added former defenseman and two-time Stanley Cup champion Jimmy Watson to the Hall of Fame back in February of 2016, and the club has induced just five members into the exclusive fraternity since 2009.

Flyers Hall of Fame Members
Flyers Hall of Fame Members
1988 - Bob Clarke and Bernie Parent
1989 - Bill Barber, Ed Snider and Keith Allen
1990 - Rick MacLeish and Fred Shero
1991 - Barry Ashbee and Gary Dornhoefer
1992 - Reggie Leach and Gene Hart
1993 - Joe Scott and Ed Van Impe
1994 - Tim Kerr
1996 - Joe Watson
1999 - Brian Propp
2001 - Mark Howe
2004 - Dave Poulin
2008 - Ron Hextall
2009 - Dave Schultz
2014 - Eric Lindros and John LeClair
2015 - Eric Desjardins
2015 - Rod Brind'Amour
2016 - Jimmy Watson

With a strong and deep list of finalists, it’s sure a good thing that the Flyers revamped the selection process for this year. Each and every one of the finalists has had a long lasting impact on the franchise for the better, and it won’t be easy for the committees to pick from that group.

That in mind, what say you Flyers fans? Light up the poll below for you choice, or drop in the comments if you’ve got multiple selections (we do).


Who should be inducted into the Flyers Hall of fame in 2021-22? (If more than one, hit the comments)

This poll is closed

  • 20%
    Lou Nolan
    (117 votes)
  • 6%
    Paul Holmgren
    (37 votes)
  • 7%
    Bob Kelly
    (42 votes)
  • 12%
    Mark Recchi
    (74 votes)
  • 26%
    Rick Tocchet
    (155 votes)
  • 26%
    Simon Gagne
    (151 votes)
576 votes total Vote Now